The Global Antibiotic Resistance Partnership works in four countries to develop actionable policy proposals to combat antibiotic resistance.

Phase 1 Countries

GARP-India began in 2009, and continues under the leadership of Professor NK Ganguly, formerdirector of the Indian Council of Medical Research.  India led in the October 2011 1st Global Forum on Bacterial Infections, held in New Delhi and crowning GARP phase 1. Learn more>>

GARP-Kenya constituted the first GARP working group, in 2009. It operates under the continued chairmanship Dr. Samuel Kariuki, a principal researcher inmicrobiology at the Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI). Dr. Linus Ndegwa, Program Manager for Infection Control at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention-KEMRI, is the vice-chair. Learn more>>

GARP-South Africa was organized in 2010, led by chairman Professor Adriano Dus of the University of Witwatersrand and vice-chair Dr. Olga Perovic of the National Institute for Communicable Diseases, National Health Laboratory Service. Learn more>>

GARP-Vietnam began work in 2009 within the Oxford University Clinical Research Unit (OUCRU) in Hanoi, where it has continued to be housed. Dr. Nguyen van Kinh, Director of the National Hospital of Tropical Diseases, chairs the working group. Learn more>> (việt ngôn ngữ>>)


Phase 2 Countries

GARP-Mozambique began in 2012, under the chairmanship of Dr. Betuel Sigaque of the Manhia Health Research Centre, with vice-chair Dr. Esperana Sevene of Eduardo Mondlane University and the Manhia Health Research Centre. Learn more>>

GARP-Nepal was organized in 2013 at the Nepal Public Health Foundation.  Dr. Buddha Basnyat, Patan Hospital, chairs the working group, and the vice-chair is Professor Paras Pokharel of the B.P. Koirala Institute of Health Sciences. Learn more>>

GARP-Tanzania began work in 2012.  Dr. Said Aboud, of Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences chair the working group, and Professor Robinson Mdegela, of Sokoine University of Agriculture, is vice chair. Learn more>>

GARP-Uganda willbe the final country to join the partnership, in 2014.